Learn more about Richard Coleman, a new Metro Trainer for the Minnesota Child Welfare Training Academy.


My name is Richard Coleman, I am an African American man, pronouns, he, him, his, I am a husband, a father of four adult children, a grandpa, a big brother to five siblings, an uncle, a great uncle, a cousin. A former musician, I am a Christian, I pray daily for myself and the well-being of others; I was born and raised in the Mississippi Delta, I am the product of a segregated and de-segregated public school system, I am a 1st generation college graduate, I graduated from and HBCU (historically black college). I work and play well with others; I live for the challenge, I have a sense of humor. I am a collaborator, I believe that kindness and humility cost us nothing to share. I too am not that fond of SSIS. I believe that to teach is to touch a life forever.

I am passionate about children and families, my favorite people are the infants, babies and toddlers, I am an anti-racist, social justice warrior determined to assist in the the dismantling of systemic oppression; I am a former college professor of undergraduate social work, I have worked in child protection/ child welfare as a social worker, unit supervisor and division manager; I have a bachelor's degree in secondary education and a master's degree in direct practice/clinical social work. I am older than I look and I am honored to be a part of this team.

What is your job title, and what will you be doing? I am Trainer for the MNCWTA. I will be providing training for new child welfare and child protection workers.

Tell us about your education and/or work experience prior to joining the MNCWTA. I have an MSW and a BS in Education, 18 years of child welfare experience, and 11 years of higher education teaching experience as an assistant professor of social work at a small liberal arts college.

What do you enjoy most about your work? I love teaching and am a life long learner.

What are you most passionate about? I am passionate about families and social justice issues. 

What do you like to do outside of work? I enjoy traveling, working out at the gym and smooth jazz music.