melissaMelissa Tjader-Berg image

Learn more about Melissa Tjader-Berg, the Training and Development Lead for the Minnesota Child Welfare Training Academy.

  1. What do you do for the Training Academy? My position includes working with all staff and community trainers, from recruitment and onboarding to professional development and coaching.
  2. Tell us about your education and/or work experience prior to joining the MNCWTA. I graduated from University of Wisconsin - Green Bay with a major in Communications and minor in Women's Studies. Prior to joining the MNCWTA team, I worked for the MN Department of Corrections for 17 years as a Training & Development Specialist. My primary responsibility was coordinating the six-week training academy for new correctional officers throughout the state, specifically at Minnesota Correctional Facility (MCF) - Stillwater and MCF - Oak Park Heights. I also assisted in the development of curriculum, was a trainer of multiple curricula, and facilitated Restorative Justice sessions with offenders.
  3. How long have you been working in your field? I have been in the field of adult learning/training and development for 25 years.
  4. What do you enjoy most about your work? As a state employee, I see a large part of my role as serving those who are navigating within state systems. In my previous and current role, it is the teamwork aspect of the job I appreciate the most. It appeals to me because it is seeing what a group of dedicated individuals can do. Traveling throughout the state and interacting with so many people who have a story unlike my own is humbling. Being a part of today's wins hopefully means a better tomorrow for those we serve.
  5. What are you most passionate about professionally? I am so very passionate about children. To have the opportunity to work in a system that values what I value most about my personal life (being a mother) is very rewarding and fulfilling.
  6. What are you most passionate about personally? My family - 100%! I was blessed with amazing parents and siblings, and now a family of my own. Two years ago, we became a blended family of 6, including my husband and our 4 children.
  7. What are you surprisingly good at? I feel like I am good at event/party planning. I love being creative, and thinking of something for all ages who are in attendance. Connecting and celebrating moments in people's lives is definitely my jam!
  8. What do you like to do outside of work? I most enjoy being a part of nature with family and friends, exploring wineries, and attending concerts and sporting events.